My Bucked Teeth

When I was a kid, I loved to smile, but I hated my teeth. My two front teeth are big. I remember Jacob, one of the schoolboys, making fun of me in school. From elementary school to high school Jacob would poke fun at my teeth. I was always conscious of my teeth – it didn’t stop me from smiling or taking pictures, but it did make me a mouth breather – because I didn’t like forcing my mouth to close, I did stand in front of the mirror for hours looking at what smile didn’t accentuate my teeth. My mind obsessed about the appearance of my mouth for years. It wasn’t until someone said to me in my early 20s, you have a wonderful smile, that I finally let go of my self-consciousness. I found acceptance because I realized that there was more to a smile than the two front teeth.

What bothers you about yourself? Is there something you compare yourself to others, and you find yourself on the short end of the stick? Is it the importance of your job? Something about your body? An uneasy relationship you have with a family member? Maybe you don’t have enough friends?
Sit with your “issue”. Feel this frustration, judgement, listen to your mind tell you how you need to be better, what isn’t good enough, why you aren’t doing it right.

Now breathe. Tell yourself, “I am okay.” Fill yourself with light and love! Lift your chest, fill your body, invigorate all of your skin, muscles, and bones! Feel everything you are!
This is more than the body. Breathe into your existence, everything you have. Taste the food you eat, feel the joy from laughter of the friends and family you have, award yourself for your skills and abilities in your job and daily tasks. You are good!

It is easy to be stuck in fix it mode. Honing in on the one thing, or couple of small details that “need to” be better. We forget the big picture. Recognizing all that you do currently have and do well. Honoring all that you are.

Instead of the perspective of needing to fix this, start to seek BALANCE. 
Every day show up with gratitude for where you are, acceptance for what is new, and the desire to be used for a greater good.
When we change our perspective from tunnel-vision to the big picture, our body can stop being in a stressed state. When you have gratitude for the current situation of your life, you are energized through the day. As new experiences and different, unfamiliar things occur, this positive energy will help your perspective fuel acceptance rather than being fatigued and worn down by having to adapt to change. You have found the strength inside of you, and now you know that you can take on whatever comes your way.
Everything is okay. It’s ALL good.

 

 

((I want to send gratitude to each of you that have supported my writing, and followed my posts over the years. I write in order to provoke thought. I would love to hear your insight. Please comment or email with your experiences and reflections.))

1 thought on “My Bucked Teeth

  1. J Robb

    What a great post. Ah hah moment. They happen all the time but geez, when there’s something that sticks with you for so long and you figure it out, why did it take so much time. Because that’s how long it was supposed to take. No top without a bottom right? Perspective is such a double edged sword. Hindsight? It’s all hindsight. If you see it then it’s experience, but just in terms of hindsight. Love circles. Damn this will keep my positive brain rolling for awhile. Thanks Jenn.

    J Robb

    >

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment